top of page

8. How did I not know?

'The "world" does not want smart girls' - Charlotte Discombe, 2020
 

XR poster. Photo Credit: XR.

 

DAY 160. How did I not know that the 'world' does not want smart girls?


DAY 161. How did I not know that the 'world' just wants white, middle class men?


DAY 162. How did I not know that the 'world' see 'minorities' as a threat?


DAY 163. How did I not know how the 'world' does not understand the necessary power of creativity?


DAY 164. How do I still now know that I am 'smart'?


DAY 165. How did I not know that I will never have a Government that truly represents the 'people'?


DAY 166. How did I not know that XR is considered a terrorist group?


DAY 167. How did I not know that some assume civil disobedience is violent?


DAY 168. How did I not know that my activism can be alienating?


DAY 169. How do I still not know how to communicate my activism without alienating others?


DAY 170. How did I not know that I care what other people think?


DAY 171. How did I not know that 'more than half of child and adolescent psychiatrists in England are seeing patients distressed about the state of the environment'?


DAY 172. How did I not know we are still 'all' in a sense of denial about climate change and the ecological crisis?


DAY 173. How did I not know that 'climate "apocalypse" fears' are stopping people having children?


DAY 174. How did I not know that 'our' Government still feels technological solutions are the best at solving climate change and the ecological crisis?


DAY 175. How did I not know how wrong they all are?

 

Work Referenced:


Carrington, Damian. 'Climate "apocalypse" fears stopping people having children - study'. The Guardian, 2020, https://amp.theguardian.com/environment/2020/nov/27/climate-apocalypse-fears-stopping-people-having-children-study?fbclid=IwAR2YN0t9u3vKG89SrmX4kg4Yc3_hKY6yN9XhRsXI-Y80RT9q1BgFkf1uPG0 (Accessed: 2020).


Dept. for Business, Energy + Industrial Strategy. 'The ten point plan for a Green Industrial Revolution'. Policy Paper, 2020, https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/the-ten-point-plan-for-a-green-industrial-revolution/title (Accessed: 2020).


Watts, Jonathon + Denis Campbell. 'Half of child psychiatrists surveyed say patients have environment anxiety'. The Guardian, 2020. https://www.theguardian.com/society/2020/nov/20/half-of-child-psychiatrists-surveyed-say-patients-have-environment-anxiety (Accessed: 2020).


The Week Stagg. 'How Extinction Rebellion was labelled an "extremist ideology'. The Week, 2020, https://www.theweek.co.uk/105581/how-extinction-rebellion-was-labelled-an-extremist-ideology (Accessed: 2020).

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page