top of page

6. How did I not know?

Updated: Sep 27, 2020


'An ordinary object [could be] elevated to the dignity of a work of art by the mere choice of an artist.' - Marcel Duchamp, 1938
 

Tracey Emin's My Bed (1998). Photo Credit: Christie's.

 

DAY 106. How did I not know what Anthropocene means?


DAY 107. How did I not know that the Anthropocene puts blame of climate change and the ecological crisis on all humans and not just the privileged few?


DAY 108. How did I not know that there are other options to the Anthropocene?


DAY 109. How did I not know that we need to 'stay with the trouble'?


DAY 110. How did I not know that trash, humans, non-human species and nature are all interconnected?


DAY 111. How did I not know that by making wings out of trash I am already thinking about my human relationship to things that are non-human?


DAY 112. How did I not know that there is something to be said about 'wasted time'?


DAY 113. How did I not know that there would be days where I felt this project was a waste of time?


DAY 114. How did I not know that an object becomes art when an artist says so?


DAY 115. How did I not know the power of the artist?


DAY 116. How did I not know that my wings didn't have to be angel wings, and instead could have been seen as bird wings or butterfly wings?


DAY 117. How did I not know that people would view this project from a fine art framework?


DAY 118. How did I not know that Call Us Angels fits into many different categories: art, activism, socially-engaged practice, performance...?


DAY 119. How did I not know that I wouldn't have time to read everything?


DAY 120. How did I not know that I wouldn't have to time to write about everything?


DAY 121. How did I not know that sorting my trash on my bed brought back flashbacks to Tracey Emin's 'My Bed'?


DAY 122. How did I not know that I would have to consider Marcel Duchamp?


DAY 123. How did I not know that I didn't want to have to consider Duchamp or Emin?


DAY 124. How did I not know how personal this project would become?


DAY 125. How did I not know that I would have to invite angels to be voyeurs in my bedroom whilst I made trash wings?


DAY 126. How did I not know that there would be so many bloody questions I would not know the answers to?

 

Work Referenced:


Christie's. 'My Bed'. Tracey Emin, 2014, https://www.christies.com/lotfinder/Lot/tracey-emin-b-1963-my-bed-5813479-details.aspx, (Accessed: 2020).


Demos, T.J. 'Against the Anthropocene'. Kaai Theater, 2017, https://www.kaaitheater.be/en/articles/video-tj-demos-against-the-anthropocene, (Accessed: 2020).


Discombe, Charlotte. 'Week 4'. Instagram, 2020, https://www.instagram.com/p/CAfMnVonK7x/, (Accessed: 2020).


Haraway, Donna. Staying with the Trouble: making kin in the Chthulucene, 2016, Durham: Duke UP.


MoMA Learning. 'Marcel Duchamp'. Dada, N.D., https://www.moma.org/learn/moma_learning/themes/dada/marcel-duchamp-and-the-readymade/, (Accessed: 2020).

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page