top of page

4. How did I not know?

Updated: Sep 27, 2020

'It's possible that humans may be consuming anywhere from 39,000 to 52,000 microplastic particles a year. With added estimates of how much microplastic might be inhaled, that number is more than 74,000.' - Sarah Gibbens, 2019
 
 

DAY 64. How did I not know that making trash angel wings would take this long?


DAY 65. How did I not know that this project would put a major strain on my mental health and wellbeing?


DAY 66. How did I not know about eco-anxiety?


DAY 67. How did I not know that making and editing a website would seem near to impossible?


DAY 68. How did I not know that there is plastic in our food?


DAY 69. How did I not know how to take a break from this project?


DAY 70. How did I not know about the #returntooffender social media movement?


DAY 71. How did I not know that fellow angels would not have the time or space to get involved with Call Us Angels?


DAY 72. How did I not know how difficult balancing academic writing with accessible language would be?


DAY 73. How did I not know that I do not have to apologise for thinking through doing?


DAY 74. How did I not know what ecofeminism is?


DAY 75. How did I not know that I don't need to apologise for not knowing?


DAY 76. How did I not know that Call Us Angels could be considered a socially engaged piece of art?


DAY 77. How did I not know that I would be writing a 'how did I not know' question every single day of this project?


DAY 78. How did I not know what 'A Call to Action' would really look like?


DAY 79. How did I not know that I needed to take these trash angel wings out of their Instagram container?


DAY 80. How did I not know that so many angels would want to join me on a 4 hour litter picking extravaganza?


DAY 81. How did I not know how to do an Instagram live session?


DAY 82. How did I not know how to save my Instagram posts to my phone?


DAY 83. How did I not know what the CEE Bill is?


DAY 84. How did I not know that it's ok to not know?

 

Work Referenced:


CEE Bill Alliance. 'About'. The CEE Bill, N.D., https://www.ceebill.uk/about, (Accessed: 2020).


Gibbens, Sarah. 'You eat thousands of bits of plastic every year'. National Geographic, 2019, https://www.nationalgeographic.co.uk/environment/2019/06/you-eat-thousands-bits-plastic-every-year, (Accessed: 2020).


Huizen, Jennifer. 'What to know about eco-anxiety'. Medical News Today, 2019, https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/327354#:~:text=Eco%2Danxiety%20refers%20to%20a,and%20human%2Dinduced%20climate%20change., (Accessed: 2020).


@Surfers against sewage. 'This is a plastic protest'. Instagram, 2020, https://www.instagram.com/p/CEWug25HQbc/, (Accessed: 2020).



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page